Tuesday, August 08, 2006

Note: My Call for Nominations to Serve on ALA and Council Committees is as follows:

ALA President-elect Loriene Roy is seeking applications and nominations
for appointments to 2007-2008 ALA and Council committees.

She will fill slots on the following committees: Accreditation;
American Libraries Advisory; Awards; Budget Analysis and Review; Chapter
Relations; Conference; Constitution and Bylaws; Council Orientation;
Diversity; Education; Election; Human Resource Development and
Recruitment Advisory; Information Technology Policy Advisory;
Intellectual Freedom; International Relations; Legislation; Literacy;
Literacy and Outreach Services Advisory; Membership; Membership
Meetings; Nominating; Organization; Orientation, Training, and
Leadership Development; Policy Monitoring (current Council members
only); Professional Ethics; Public and Cultural Programs Advisory;
Public Awareness; Publishing; Research and Statistics; Resolutions;
Rural, Native and Tribal Libraries of All Kinds; Scholarships and Study
Grants; Status of Women in Librarianship; Website Advisory;
ALA-Children's Book Council (Joint); ALA-Association of American
Publishers {Joint) and ALA-Society of American Archivists-American
Association of Museums(Joint). Committee charges can be found in the
ALA Handbook of Organization.

All applicants must complete and submit the electronic 2007-2008 ALA
Committee Volunteer Form. The form is available at:
http://cs.ala.org/roy/volunteer.html The deadline for submission is
December 4, 2006.

Geographical location, type of library, gender, ethnicity, previous
committee work (not necessarily with ALA), ALA and related experience,
and other factors are considered when the committee slates are compiled
in order to ensure broad representation and diversity on all committees.
The ALA Committee on Committees and Committee on Appointments will
assist Dr. Roy in making appointments. Committee appointees will
receive appointment letters after the 2007 ALA Midwinter Meeting in
Seattle. Appointees will begin their committee service after the 2007
ALA Annual Conference in Washington, DC.

Questions concerning appointments can be directed to Dr. Roy at
Loriene@ischool.utexas.edu or Lois Ann Gregory-Wood, Council
Secretariat, at lgregory@ala.org

Elizabeth Dreazen
Office of ALA Governance
50 E. Huron Street
Chicago, IL 60611
1-800-545-2433, ext. 3203
Fax: 312-944-3897